M Chinnaswamy Stadium Bangalore – Venue ICC T20 World Cup 2016

M Chinnaswamy Stadium Bangalore ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2016


The M. Chinnaswamy Stadium is a cricket stadiums of India which is located in Bangalore, Karnataka. This stadium is about four decade old. The stadium is established in 1969. The ground was known as the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA) stadium, the ground was later renamed  to Mr. M. Chinnaswamy. M. Chinnaswamy, who served the Karnataka State Cricket Association KSCA for four decades and was also president of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) from 1977 to 1980. This stadium has capacity of 36, 000 spectator capacity. This ground also hosts the musical and cultural events along with the Test cricket, One Day Internationals (ODI) , Indian Premier League (IPL) and other First-class cricket matches. This stadium is the home ground of Karnataka state cricket, Indian cricket team and IPL team  Royal Challengers Bangalore. The KSCA now plans to increase the seating capacity to 70,000 with the extra facilities like club for players. The Chinnaswamy stadium cricket pitch is  bouncy and pacy, which is something unprecedented in the history of Indian cricket because other international level pitches in India known to be a turning pitches.



This stadium construction work completed in 1970. M. Chinnaswamy stadium was first used for First class cricket matches during the 1972–73 season. It was first used for international cricket in 1974 – 75 season when West Indies was on India tour. During 22–29 November 1974, first Test match played at this stadium. West Indian batting legends Viv Richards and Gordon Greenidge started their creer through this match in 1974. Indian captain was M. A. K. Pataudi where as Clive Lloyd was West Indian . India lost that match by 256 runs big margin. After two years of first test match, India won their first match in 1976 – 77 against Tony Greig’s England Team. On 6 September 1982, The first ODI match at this stadium was played between India and Sri Lanka. In first ODI match at M. Chinnaswamy stadium, India smashed Sri Lanka by Six wickets.

 M Chinnaswamy Stadium Bangalore ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2016

Memorable Points And Records

In 1996 Wills World Cup, FLood lights were installed at this stadium. The first Day night match played at M. Chinnaswamy stadium was the quarter final match between India and Pakistan on 9 th March 1996. In that match India beat Pakistan by 39 runs in a very close contest. In 2007 Pakistan tours of India, In 3rd Test match India collapsed to 61 / 4 in first day of first inning then Saurav Ganguly and Yuvraj Singh controlled match  and made a 300 runs stands for fifth wicket breaking several records. India’s 365/5 at stumps was the highest 1st day score in whole of India. That partenership was the highest partnership at the stadium and the highest left-hander batsmen partnership. Sourav Ganguly’s 239 is the highest left-hander score at M. Chinnaswamy stadium.

On this ground, Rohit Sharma made his first double hundred against Australia (209 Runs) .

In 2011 Cricket World Cup, India Vs England thrilling match ended as tie in which both the team managed to score of 338.

The most runs were scored by Sachin Tendulkar  with 534 runs then  followed by Virender Sehwag  with 328 runs  and Australian player Michael Clarke with 239 runs  on this ground.

Ireland have registered highest score chase record of 329 – 7(in 49.1 Overs) against tough England’s 327 (in 50.0 Overs) Team in ICC Cricket World Cup 2011.

The highest total in ODI is 383 – 6 made by India on 2 Nov 2013 against Australia .


Established :  1969

Capacity : 40,000 Approximately .

Floodlights : Yes

End names : Pavilion End, BEML End

Home team : Karnataka Cricket Team, Indian Cricket Team,  Royal Challengers Bangalore (IPL Team)

Curator : Narayan Raju

Address : M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Karnataka State Cricket Association, Mahatma Gandhi Road, Bangalore – 560001 .

Sachin T

Search Engine Optimization and Social Media expert with a keen interest in sports journalism.

Sachin has written 3 awesome posts on Cricket for us at AllSportsLeagues.

Leave a Comment